Untitled Document

Four SEARCH Members Serving on Security Clearance Task Force


Four governor appointees on the SEARCH Membership Group are serving on the Security Clearance Task Force, which was established in the 2014 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA). Congress passed and the president signed the NDAA into law in late December 2013. 

The task force is examining the process for security clearances, in particular analyzing obstacles to background investigators and clearance adjudicators who access needed data stored in state and local records.  The impetus for forming the task force was due, in large part, to discoveries about the security clearance process that came to light following the Edward Snowden and Navy Yard shooter cases. 

The task force’s recommendations are due to Congress in April. 

SEARCH Members serving on the task force are:

  • Captain Thomas W. Turner, Commander, Criminal Justice Information Services Division, Virginia State Police.
  • Mr. Jeff Kellett, Chief Administrator, Criminal Records Unit, New Hampshire State Police.
  • Mr. Mike Lesko, Deputy Assistant Director, Crime Records Service, Texas Department of Public Safety.
  • Ms. Dawn Peck, Manager, Bureau of Criminal Identification, Idaho State Police.
Thomas W. Turner

Thomas W. Turner

Jeff Kellett

Jeff Kellett

Mike Lesko

Mike Lesko

Dawn Peck

Dawn Peck

The approximately 40-member task force includes representatives from the Departments of State, Defense, ATF, DHS and ICE, National Security Agency, Office of Personnel Management, Office of the Director of National Intelligence, and CIA.

0 Comments  |  Category:  SEARCH News


There are no comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *