Governors Appoint Three New Members to SEARCH

  Back  See more recent articles

SEARCH is pleased to announce the appointment of three new justice leaders to the SEARCH Membership Group:

  • Ronald C. Brothers
    Mr. Ronald C. Brothers, Chief Information Officer of the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Information Technology and Communications Division (ITCD), who was appointed September 14, 2009, by Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley.

    The ITCD provides automated criminal justice information services for criminal justice and noncriminal justice purposes to the Department, other federal, state, and local criminal justice agencies, and authorized users among the general public. The division houses and maintains the Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository, which maintains Maryland's fingerprint-supported criminal identification records and criminal history record information.

  • Karhlton Moore
    Mr. Karhlton Moore, Executive Director, Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services, who was appointed November 2, 2009, by Ohio Governor Ted Strickland.

    As executive director, Mr. Moore is responsible for the administration and evaluation of state and federal grants for law enforcement, victim assistance, juvenile justice, crime prevention, and courts and corrections programs. He also works in continuing partnership with law enforcement task forces, and provides the Governor and the Director of the Department of Public Safety with current and projected criminal justice strategies.

  • Captain Rodney M. Layfield, Director, State Bureau of Identification (SBI), Delaware State Police, who was appointed November 12, 2009, by Delaware Governor Jack Markell.

    SBI provides the state with a central repository for the collection and accurate organization of criminal arrest records, crime reports, and missing person reports. The director, along with sex offender agents, troopers, and a civilian staff work in the following interrelated sections; Fingerprint Identification Section, Criminal History Section, Quality Control Section, Detective Licensing Section, Firearms Section, SBI North, and the Sex Offender Section.

The SEARCH Membership Group, which governs SEARCH, is comprised of one gubernatorial appointee from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, as well as eight at-large appointees selected by SEARCH's Chair.

This national body of state-level professionals is widely representative of the various disciplines within the justice system, and many are responsible for operational decisions and policymaking concerning the management of criminal justice information, particularly criminal history information.

The Membership Group fosters cooperation and communication among justice system professionals in identifying and implementing solutions to common problems.