Annual Membership Meeting Summary


2005 Hawkins Award Recipient: U.S. Senator Judd Gregg (R-NH)

2005 Cooper Award Recipient: Ms. Donna Uzzell, Florida Department of Law Enforcement
The SEARCH Annual Membership Meeting was held on July 25-27, 2005 at the Grand Hyatt in Washington, D.C. The Membership meeting included Board of Directors, Membership Group and Program Advisory Committee (PAC) meetings. The Annual meeting featured special PAC discussions focused on exploring Section 6403 of the Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004.

Presentations, roundtable and breakout discussions included:
  • Examining the relationship of courts to state repositories in light of technologies used
  • Funding justice information sharing
  • Revisiting the concept of the National Fingerprint File
  • Trends in high-tech crime computer security
  • Update on Federal Legislation
  • How the Records Quality Index measures the performance of criminal history record systems
  • Exploring the National Information Exchange Model (NIEM)
  • Discussing current activities regarding the Transportation Security Administration's handling of hazardous material endorsements for individuals seeking or renewing commercial driver's licenses

United States Senator Judd Gregg (R-NH) received the 2005 O.J. Hawkins Award for Outstanding Contributions in Criminal Justice Information Systems, Policy and Statistics in the United States. Ms. Donna Uzzell, Director, Criminal Justice Information Services, Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), received the 2005 Gary R. Cooper Meritorious Service Award, presented each year to the SEARCH Member who has provided outstanding work on behalf of SEARCH and criminal justice information services.

SEARCH's 2006 Winter Membership Meeting is scheduled for January 24-27, 2005 at the Los Angeles Hilton/Universal City.